cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

My Communication Model

3 Comments

 

As I thought about all the people I know personally, professionally, and just acquaintances the person who keep coming to mind as a competent communicator is the instructional assistant in my classroom. This is only our second school year working to together and I have already learned so much from her about effective communication through her competent communication ability.  I have reflected often on my communication style and effectiveness. For this blog post I will refer to her as Sue.

Sue has an energetic, fun, caring personality, which I find is the beginning of her effective communication skills. She just walks into a room happy and excited to get started with whatever is to come, but not in an overwhelming annoying way. You know from the moment she enters you could go to her with anything and she would do her best to help you. She truly cares about children and supporting our classroom, which shows in her actions and words. She never misses a chance to greet a child, and make positive eye contact with staff. She always gets down to children eye level when she speaks and listens to them. She has a soft calm tone with children and adults. She tries to smile and stay positive throughout the day, some days are easier than others.

As I mentioned Sue is passionate about supporting our students and the classroom. She is very respectful of my position as the classroom teacher, which is reflected, in how she speaks and responds to me. Sue knows I always want staff to share questions, concerns, and ideas that would help our classroom run even better. Sue is the type that never stop noticing and thinking about how things can be tweaked for the better. She often will come to me and let me know she was thinking about a situation and either ask what I think and how should she handle it in the future or offers an idea she had. Sue is very accepting of feedback, but will continue to question a situation if she feels passionate about it. She is very good at taking a step back when we don’t see eye to eye and approaching it a different day or in a different way. I take a bit longer to process and reflect on a situation, I may need time to mull over an idea. I have unfortunately shot down some ideas which in hindsight I realized where great in there intension, they just needed a different solution. Sue may get frustrated in the moment, as can I that a solution was not found or I did not support her plan. However, she is able to move on and truly implement the plan I presented without verbal or nonverbal contempt for the idea. Sue will come back with feedback on how she felt it went and agree the plan worked or continue to suggest tweaking.   Sue is passionate and confident in her thoughts and ideas and has gained my respect. She has helped me reflect on my communications with others.

We collaborate like this daily, it is a back and forth communication. We both know neither one of us have all the answers; some days are more effective than others. When two passionate people work in close proximity daily there are bound to be clashes of personality and ideas. We must take the time to listen and collaborate on the best ways to support our classroom. I am just so thankful to have an instructional assistant that is just as passionate about children as I am. Whether I agree or disagree with an idea Sue has I always know it comes from a place a caring and a passion for children.

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

3 thoughts on “My Communication Model

  1. Hello Christina

    It is nothing like having a good support team as a teacher. So far in my experiences as a teacher everything is left up to the me to handle. Even when there is conflict I am told it is my class and I need to handle it. So it is always nice when you work with someone that understands the work as you do and shows it through their ways of communication and engagement in the classroom environment.

    Pam

    Like

  2. Christina,

    I responded to your post previously but I am not seeing the post so I am posting again. It is always great to have support especially since as teachers we are responsible for so many things. I also wrote about my assistant teacher and well she communicates, support and encouraged me. It pleases me to hear that you have someone in your class that adds to the positive environment that you have created.

    Pam

    Like

  3. You guys relationship sounds like me and my former teacher assistant. Having someone who is equally passionate as you is always a great asset to your classroom. That is great that Sue does not hold back on her ideas or opinions about some ideas you may have even though you are in a superior position. This lets me know not only is she an effective communicator she has leadership traits as well, and I like that in an assistant teacher so when I am absent I have no worries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

