cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

My Microaggression Experience

2 Comments

Dr. Derald Wing Sue stated, “Microaggressions are when verbal behavior cause feelings of uncertainty, inferiority, or marginalization, even though no offense was consciously intended (Laureate, 2011).” Through this recent exercise to observe our own lives for microaggression I have stumbled onto a fact about myself I am not proud of. To me it is one thing to realize others have used microaggressions toward me and reflect on how I felt, it is a whole different feeling when I realized I not only have used microaggression toward others but that I am teaching my children to do the same unintentionally. I believe I am a kind and accepting person however, I do have my opinions about many things and the way people do things.

On a car ride home from a family visit as I discuss with my husband things that I didn’t agree with about other family members, not to bash them just in a discussion. However, I realize now by having this discussion with my children in the car no matter how much I think they are not listening, I am model microaggression. If they take my words and attitude and say something to their cousin they will be the microaggressors with out even knowing what they are doing. WOW! This is important for all us parents, it is so hard to be aware of all the messages we are sending intended and unintended.

 

 

 

Reference

Laureate Education (Producer). (2011). Microaggressions in everyday life

[Video file].

 

 

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

2 thoughts on “My Microaggression Experience

  1. It is so hard to complete these exercises without looking inward at our own attitudes and biases. We are all guilty of microaggressions, now we just have a term to attached to our behavior. Hopefully, by being more aware and understanding the repercussions of such statements, we will all be able to better filter our thoughts and comments. You are not alone, I catch myself doing the same things. All we can do is learn and try to be a better version of ourselves with the knowledge we have gained.

    Like

  2. You are not alone. I would guess that every parent has at some point thrown a family member under the bus during conversation you do not think your children are listening to. It happens. But now with new found knowledge and understanding of the term microaggression we can all become a little more cognizant about what we say/how we say it and if we should say it at all. As Megan said, “All we can do is learn and try to be a better version of ourselves.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

