cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

A challenge to my support

1 Comment

 

Without Mom

 

When I think about a challenge that could occur in my life that would change the support I need, I think of the short term changes that occur now, if it were permanent would have a huge impact on my life. A short-term challenge we face occurs a few times a year when my mother a huge support in our life leaves for two weeks at a time to visit my brother in Florida. When she is gone, we have to rethink many parts of our day and lives we take for granted do to her support. We have to rely on different family members and friends to help make sure our children get on and off the bus and watch them after school daily. I have to make sure I am much more diligent about leaving work on time to get home and relieve whom ever we were able to get to watch the boys. Without her here I don’t have the daily support of sitting down with her and discussing our days or just visiting and watching a show together. I also don’t have that continuous support right next door to just go to when ever I need a quick venting moment or some advise.   When I have meetings after school and my husband has to work late we have to call around and see who is available. My mom is always willing to help and never makes us feel guilty about asking it is harder when we have to ask others.   I am so thankful for all the support she gives to me and my family daily. I’m glad she only goes away for short trips. If we lost her support for longer periods of time or permanently it would have a huge impact emotionally, practically, and physically on my life.

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

One thought on “A challenge to my support

  1. Because I am grown up, I see the many positive values my mother instilled in me. My mother has a relentless love for her children. She has always done her best to give us the best she could. Care and respect are the biggest things she taught me. Without her patience in my wild ways as a teenager, I would not have grown to a mature adult with a good head on my shoulders. I hope I have made her proud. I know there were many moment in my life where I disappointed her, but she knew I needed her no matter what. The beautiful home she maintained, breakfast, lunch, and dinner were always available, and that occasional kick in the butt were all long term goals. Without her constant prayers and love, there’s no telling how my life would have turned out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

