cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

Thoughts on Breast-Feeding

5 Comments

As a child who was breast-feed, I never really though much about not breast-feeding my own children, it seemed like the natural thing to do. I have always thought it was the best choice to make it you are able to. I had family support and the luxury of staying home with my children until my second son was 1 year old. This made breast-feeding a much easier choice for me.   I choose to pump breast milk at time so my husband could also be a part of this important bonding time with our son. For all the same reasons it is important for a mother and child to have that experience, I feel fathers shouldn’t miss out. I really enjoyed breast-feeding my children. I did find breast-feeding in public much harder. At times I felt comfortable and other times I felt uncomfortable like I was being inappropriate or judged by others. I do not think public breastfeeding is as well accepted nor supported in the U.S. as in other countries and cultures around the world.

This is one of the two the biggest obstacle women have in choosing to breast-feed or not. The second obstacle is being a workingwomen they defiantly need more support to make it possible to work and breastfeed. I have worked with women who had to return to work as soon as their paid maternity time was up. They had chose to breastfeed their child but found it very difficult to breast feed and work full time. Women are not able to bring their infants to work with them so have to pump their breast milk while at work or switch to formula once they go back to work to make it easier. Even women who are dedicated to breast-feeding have a difficult time finding times, proper spaces, and acceptance in a work environment to pump their milk. Many employers do not have a plan to support breast-feeding women.

In the articles, I have read on breastfeeding there are clearly a lot of differing opinions. I do not know that anyone can argue the fact that the female body was designed to breastfeed, and it is a natural process. However, cultural differences can make this a beautiful natural event that no one thinks twice about doing or see being done, or an overly private event that makes it more difficult to enjoy and to practice. Although I feel breast-feeding was the right choice for me I do not want women who did not choose this path to be made to feel bad or like they are not good mothers. There are many reasons women are not able to or choose not to breast-feed.

In some areas around the world breast-feeding is just so natural and a part of their culture that most mothers breast-feed their babies unless they are physically not able to. In other areas around the world especially less developed countries breast-feeding is actually a matter of life or death for infants. Children that are born into an environment with no running water or adequate food supply depend on breast milk.

The following link has stories written by women around the world sharing their experience with breast-feeding and observations of breastfeeding around the world. I recommend you take time to read some of these stories. http://www.007b.com/public-breastfeeding-world.php

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Breast-Feeding

  1. I enjoyed your information about breast feeding. I am a mother of a 2 year old toddler and like you, I never thought twice about bottle feeding. I always thought to breast feed a child was definitely the natural thing to do. When I was pregnant I heard all the horror stories about breast feeding such as the baby may not latch on or may even bite. None of the stories scared me into not breast feeding my child because I knew that breast milk was the best for her.

    Like

  2. I wish I would have breastfed both of my children. I grew up without a mom and I was never really educated about breastfeeding. Everyone I knew had used formula and I never looked much into any other way. I did breastfeed my daughter but only at night because it was easier when I was half asleep. I will be educating my daughter when she gets older and has her own children.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed your information about breast feeding. When I was pregnant, I’ve heard so many horror stories about breast feeding. Such stories were the infant my not latch on to the nipple or sometimes even bite. I was never scared into not breast feeding because I knew that it was the best decision for my daughter. When I breast fed my daughter it was a special moment that we both shared. I enjoyed the bond that we shared during her feeding time. I am glad that I choose to breast feed.

    Like

  4. Even though I agree with breastfeeding, I am one who do not like to see women just pulling out their breast in public places to breast feed their babies. If it is done in a respectful way where no one has to see their breast than yes. Breasting is a bond with mother and child and it is said to be one of the best source of milk for young children.

    I know I had to stop bread feeding because I had to return to work and I live too far to return home to breast feed so I do understand what your friend went through.

    Like

  5. Now that I’ve looked up research I It the natural way to feed your child. when my child was first born I tired it and my daughter wouldn’t latch on so I never tired again. I would encourage everyone to breastfeed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

