cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

Thinking of Mom

2 Comments

Mothers are pretty amazing aren’t they.  I have enjoyed reading about everyones relationships with their mothers.  Even as a child I appreciate and admired my mother to an extent.  It wasn’t until I was a wife and then a mother that I really was able to understand and appreciate my mother and all she did for us.  This made me think of a silly memory from my childhood.  I had cleaned the kitchen counter without being asked and when my mother came home she didn’t say anything about it. I was upset and asked her if she had noticed what a great job I did.  She said, “I do that everyday”, this made me mad at the time.

Years and years later my husband had cleaned something in the house  to be helpful and I didn’t react very enthusiastically, he didn’t understand why I wasn’t more impressed.  It was like a flash that memory came rushing back from my childhood with my mother.  In that instant I totally understood her lack of enthusiasm for the one thing I cleaned when she does it all, all the time.  I had to go tell her all about it.  We had a great conversation and a good laugh. Oh and I did thank my husband, he really was trying to do a good thing.

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

2 thoughts on “Thinking of Mom

  1. reading your post really made me realize how important a mothers job is. Me and my mother were close but we had a following out and just reading your post made me think of the great times I shared with my mother. I would like to say thank you because I have realized it time to build a bridge and fix my relationship with my mother

    Like

  2. Wow that is great! I hope you are able to re-build that bridge for you and your children.

    Like

Leave a Reply

