cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

Personal Childhood Web

4 Comments

Who help me become this person I am today?

Mom

funny-mothers-day-quotes-from-daughter-8110

My mother has had a huge impact on my life as a child and to this day. I really cannot deny it even it I wanted to. I am so much like her, and proud of it. As a child, my mother was a role model for me in so many ways. As a mother she was the one who read me books, took care of me when I was sick, made sure I did my homework, answered any question or concern no matter the nature, brought up the tough topics and helped me solve them. She is still the one I go to when I need help or have great news to share. As a working parent she showed me how to balance two important worlds, she showed me the importance of having a good work ethic and the value of contributing to our family financially as well as being a nurturer. My mother showed me the importance of choosing a profession you are passionate about. She was a teacher and a great influence on why I became a teacher as well. As a student, she showed me how important education is to our future. She went back to school for her masters degree in education with four kids at home and a husband who worked many hours to help support the family. As a child I developed my own classroom in a empty portion of our apartment building. My mother would bring home old worksheets and workbooks the school was discarding. I guess I got to be the teacher because my mother provided the materials. Over the summer break from school I would run my own classroom, teach lessons, assign work, and even give home work to the neighborhood kids. I had a lot of fun playing school and I never stopped.

Dad

My dad was a Vietnam Vet who brought back many memories from the war. I always new that time in his life was very difficult and he was never really able to get past it all. He had an hour commute each way to work, so he was not able to be home as much as he or I would have liked. Even as a child I understood, he was at work and need to support our family. Unfortunately, this made it difficult for him to be a close part of my life as a child. His influence on my life came in the form of creative expression, strong work ethic, and an appreciation for our troops. He was an artists for the war, and in his spare time. As a child, we spent Christmas Eve with my dad’s side of the family. My dad instilled the importance of gifts from our own hands and hearts were the most special we could give our relatives. Every year my dad helped us create works of art to give our family. We made ornaments, candles, gingerbread houses that looked like their own houses, etc. I looked forward to this special time with my dad. I have continued this tradition with my own children. I feel it is so important to pass on important tradition and values from one generation to the next. I use this creative side of my self often in my classroom to inspire my students and make learning fun.

 

 

Uncle Jimmy & Aunt Pam

When I was young, I spent a few weeks every summer at my aunt and uncles house. My aunt taught me how to sew and my uncle taught me his love for plants. I looked forward to these visits. As the years went on, they had 3 children of their own.   This was one of my first experiences helping to care for and teach young children. I learned a lot about children, spending time with my cousins. As an adult, I know the time I spent with them has shaped my desire to work with young children and my passion for gardening which I love to bring into my classroom and share with children.

 

 

David

David is one of my older brothers. He had a lot of influence in my life as a child. David taught me how to roller-skate by taking me to the top of the driveway and giving me a push. I went fast, caught the sand at the bottom, fell, and scraped up my legs. He made me get up and do it again. He taught be to ski by going to the top of the slope and giving me a push. I went fast, slipped, and fell. Again, he made me get up, and keep trying. He tried to help me stop sucking my thumb by putting hot sauce on it. That did not work, but I do like spicy foods.   He taught me if I wanted the T.V. first after school, I needed to run faster off the school bus. Although these memory sounds harsh and they were at the time, he really did teach me to be tough, keep trying, never give up. Which are valuable lesson I use everyday as a parent, teacher, and student? In retrospect, he was a caring big brother by two years, willing to spend time teaching his little sister to the best of his ability, even when I wanted to give up.

 

Maria, Heather, & Kim

These we my three closest childhood friends growing up. Maria is my younger sister by two years, I met Heather when we were5 years old, she moved in down the road, and Kim I met in elementary school. They were always there to comfort, support, and challenge me through the years. We played together, did sleepovers, fought with each other, learned to do hair and makeup

Friends-4ever-mcrkilljoygirl-21189765-895-893

together, and talked about boys together. They have all had different influences on my life, but as a whole, they gave me the confidence to be my self and develop into who ever I needed to be. As a child, I was very shy and quiet in school and social situations. No one believes that now, who know me as an adult. I feel these girls and my family are why I was able to grow past an insecure little girl and become a confident, mother, teacher, and student today. These are still my three closet friends who I will cherish forever.

 

 

 

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

4 thoughts on “Personal Childhood Web

  1. Christina, I love your blog!! The fact that you have an older brother, I am sure we can relate very well. of course our parents are the forefront of our lives, But we spend more time bonding with our siblings and having an older brother is the best to me. We will always have someone to protect us and have our backs at all times, and even teach us a thing or two every now and then. I love the relationship I have with my brother as well

    Like

  2. I like the fact that you mentioned your childhood friends, that was a great idea. The friends we chose and grow up with also have a major impact on our lives. Some for better, some for worse. But having a good friend or friends that you can grow up and experience life with is a memory that will last a lifetime

    Like

    • Agreed, childhood friends are so important to our development. Whether friendship are short lived or last a life time each one impacts us in a variety of way. Whether a friendship ends up being positive or negative it will it will have an impact on our development. Thats probably why I worry about one of my own children so much. He is 10 years old and has a hard time connecting with his peer and making lasting friendships. Im sure it will come together for him I just know how much I counted on my friends and I want that for him.

      Like

  3. I live in El Paso, Texas. I’m surrounded by army men and women every day. I enjoyed reading about your dad. Even though you didn’t get as much time as you would have liked with him I like that you focused on how he did influence you. Your brother seems to have taught you the way I taught my sister. I enjoyed reading about your influences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

