cstravato's Pre-k World

The life of a Teacher / Student / Mother

A Favorite

3 Comments

You-My-Mother

What a great story to read with young children.  The adventure this little bird goes on can guide discussions and teaching in a variety of directions.  There are so many emotions this little bird goes through students are able to make connections to times they have felt lost and lonely in their lives.  I often get the stories about being lost in a store and they can’t find their mother.

I have used this book to teach about animal families.  It lends it self perfectly to comparing what features make up different animal groups.  Why can’t the dog be his mother?  Dog don’t have feathers.  Dog don’t have wings.  I have used this book to teach about spring changes and birds.  This book works well for retelling events of a story.

Reading_quotes_for_kids-8

Author: cstravato

I am a wife of 14 years and have two boys, one is 10 and an the other is 8. They are busy and keep us hopping. I have been a pre-school teacher for 9 years with a break in the middle to teach kindergarten in FL for three years, and I had the luxury of staying home with my two boys for a few years. I enjoy teaching pre-school age children it gives me great pride to help set a generation up to succeed in their school careers and life. I am currently going back to school to complete my masters degree in early childhood education at Walden University.

3 thoughts on “A Favorite

  1. We read this book during WOTYC. The kids loveeeeddd it!

    Like

  2. I just read this book to my daughter last night. I really enjoyed the book and when I said my daughter what was the book about she replied they were looking for someone to love them like how my mommy loves me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

